Retrieve data by 30 April or it’s gone forever.
HTC has announced it is to shut down its HTCSense.com cloud service, so that it can relaunch it as an improved and expanded offering. Unfortunately, in doing so, it will delete all customers’ data stored on the service.
The phone manufacturer launched HTCSense.com in October 2010. The online service lets users back up data on their phones - such as text messages and contacts - to HTC’s systems via the internet.
It was also used to help customers react in the case of a lost or stolen handset - for example, they could track missing handsets, remotely change the ring volume, or display messages on the lock screen.
However, as of Monday,30 April, 2012, the service is being shut down for “renovations”. Customers that use the service have until then to download their data as, come May, it will be deleted from the service.
On HTCSense.com, HTC explained the situation: “HTCSense.com is undergoing a renovation to improve the services and value we deliver to customers like you.
“Until the new services are ready, features previously available on HTCSense.com will be shutting down. If you have been using HTCSense.com to sync your contacts, messages, footprints or call history, you can download your data through April 30, 2012. After April 30, 2012, your data will no longer be accessible and will be deleted.”
Photo by karindalziel